Sunday, May 29, 2022
Technology News
Trusted, Accurate, and Validated
Home / Uncategorized  / Canada Closes Border

Canada Closes Border

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on Monday announced that Canada will deny entry into the country to anyone who is not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident to limit the spread of coronavirus. 

The order makes exceptions for airplane crews, diplomats, immediate family members of Canadian citizens and United States citizens, per The New York Times. The exception for U.S. citizens may be tenuous, however, as Trudeau noted it was acceptable “at this time.”

Four Canadian airports will continue to accept international flights, including Toronto Pearson International Airport, Montréal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, Vancouver International Airport and Calgary International Airport. All Canadian airports can continue to accept domestic flights and exemptions include flights arriving from the United States, Mexico, the Caribbean and Saint Pierre and Miquelon.

The move is even more restrictive than the travel ban in the U.S., which limits travel from Europe to the U.S. for a period of 30 days. American citizens, legal permanent residents, their immediate families, and certain others are exempt from the ban, but will be funneled through one of 13 airports equipped for special screenings.